Intuitive Eating

One thing that’s been interesting to me has been the way my body has reacted to incorporating meat into my diet.  I have spent the last fifteen years of my life in various permutations of vegetarian and pescetarian.  For a while I ate fish, and when I lived in Venezuela I had a very loose definition of meatless – basically, if I didn’t see the meat then it didn’t count.  I spent a large portion of the first five months with terrible stomach pains as a result.

For a long time, this was the major reason I stayed vegetarian – I wasn’t interested in putting my stomach through the process of regrowing the right kind of bacteria to successfully process meat.  Which led me to be vegetarian kind of as a default, rather than as a conscious choice and keeping in-line with how I wanted to live.

At some point, Erin started eating meat again, and that was working just fine.  I had gone back to eating fish, and we were even learning how to cook fish at home.  Then two things happened: we moved to California and I read The Omnivore’s Dilemma and Animal Vegetable Miracle.  And while there are problematic parts of both books, they did serve the function of making me think more clearly about my diet choices.

And there is so much good meat in CA!  So we started getting a couple of cuts of meat from local farmers (specifically Niman Ranch and Marin Sun Farms).  And it was working.  We were cooking it, and I was careful to eat small portions of it and keep it to once a week or so.  And my body hasn’t rejected it yet.  Now I’m slowly incorporating a little more into my diet (last week, I think I ate three meaty meals).

I have been noticing, though, that there is only a certain amount of meat that my body wants.  There are days when it sounds absolutely amazing, and then for the next 4-5 days it doesn’t hold much appeal.  It’s been really interesting for me to see my body wanting very different kinds of food at different times, and to be conscious of honoring those wants.  I think I’m healthier as a result, even if my body sometimes tells me that it wants a piece of toast and some chocolate for lunch.

I’m looking forward to seeing how this refines itself through the coming months and years.

Published in: on April 17, 2010 at 7:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://twovegetarians.wordpress.com/2010/04/17/intuitive-eating/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

